Chinon; a perfect rosè

One of my first trips to wine country was to the Loire Valley with my parents when I studied in Paris at the age of 20.  I may have been too young to fully appreciate the vast array of wines this fascinating region offers, but it was when I first experienced the magic that only wine can produce.  My taste has always been in elegant, light and fresh wines and the beautiful Loire Valley sure offers plenty of fantastic selections.   While the region may be confusing to some, the easiest way to look at it is that it mainly offers four varieties: Sauvignon Blanc, Chenin Blanc, Melon de Bourgogne and Cabernet Franc.  Famous wines you may have heard of from here include Sancerre (Sauvignon Blanc), Vouvray and Savennières (Chenin Blanc) as well as Muscadet (Melon de Bourgogne) and Chinon (Cabernet Franc).  There is also Pouilly-Fume (Sauvignon Blanc) which sometimes is confused with Burgundy’s Pouilly-Fuisse (Chardonnay).

Chenin Blanc come into its purest, most expressive form in the Loire Valley, producing a wide variety of wines including dry, medium-dry sweet, sparkling and late harvest.  This is perhaps my favorite grape from the region (if I have to choose one) but today I felt like something more casual and easy going as I wanted to sit on my verandah soaking up the sun, enjoying the warmth after having returned from my vacation in the noticeably colder Norway.

Now that the weather is slowly warming up towards summer, I am immediately attracted to rosè wines and some of my favorite ones happen to be from…. you guessed it: the Loire Valley!  I picked up a CHINON La Vigne en Veron 2012 from my favorite wine shop in the neighboring town, and happy about my selection.  Made my Maison Foucher and part of the Chais St Laurent line, the wine is 100% Cabernet Franc from multiple parcels from the villages of Rivière, Beaumont-en-Véron and Savigny-en-Véron in the region of Touraine, the grapes were hand harvested and fermented and aged in stainless steel.

Cabernet Franc is actually the original Cabernet Grape. Most people are probably more familiar with Cabernet Sauvignon, which is Cabernet Franc’s offspring.  While Cabernet Sauvignon produces a deeper, darker more tannic wine, Cabernet Franc produces a sweeter, more balanced wine, and thrives in cool climates such as the Loire Valley.   While the reds certainly are of top quality and able to achieve greatness here, I often turn to the Loire for their luscious roses. The Chinon La Vigne en Veron is a prime example of what makes a summer afternoon complete to me.

Tasting Notes:

I was first struck by the absolute beautiful color of this wine; brilliantly clear with a salmon pink color, just the way I want my rosè wines to look.

On the nose, I got a bit of a candy note with lots of red, juicy fruit (raspberries, strawberries and cherries).  On the palate, it is very dry but with great depth of flavor. The red fruits appear again here, combined with crisp acidity and some slight tannins.  A light bodied wine with moderate alcohol and good length.

Conclusion:

A bone dry rose, but with abundant red fruit, this is most definitely my style of rosè.  I  found it very elegant and think it managed to achieve that classic, pure rosè taste without it being too fruity or extracted or “candy” like in flavor.  Refreshing, delicious and lively with long finish makes this a wonderful find for the price.

Price:   Approximately $15

Food Pairing:

Pair this wine with all types of canapes; white fish and salmon, shellfish, chicken / white meat.  Could also be enjoyed on its own or with hard cheeses.

chinon

Leave a comment